Poll: INEC declares Kebbi Guber Election inconclusive

..announces 12 States out of 28

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the Kebbi State Governorship Election, inconclusive.

INEC’s Returning Officer, Professor Yusuf Sa’idu, made the declaration today in Birnin Kebbi, the state capital.

Professor Sa’idu said the measures became necessary because there were breaches of electoral laws that led to cancellations of results in polling units within 20 of the 21 LGAs.

He said violence, destruction of election materials, disruption of electoral proceedings and over voting, plaid a role in having the election declared inconclusive.

Before declaring the election inconclusive, APC was leading the polls with 388,258 votes, as against 342,980 votes polled by the PDP.

Of the 36 states, governorship polls were held in 28, namely Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Enugu, Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, and Zamfara.

Gov Sule Re-Elected In Nasarawa

Governor Abdullahi Sule is announced as the winner of the Nasarawa State governorship election.

The Returning Officer of the governorship election, Professor Tanko Ishaya, declares that Sule (APC) polled 347,209 to beat his closest contender, David Ombugadu (PDP) who got 283,016 votes.

NNPP Declared Winner In Kano

The battle for political control of Kano State in Nigeria’s North-West between the APC and NNPP has been settled with the declaration of Yusuf Kabir (NNPP) as the governor-elect.

Kabir was declared winner of the keenly contested poll by INEC on Monday morning, scoring 1,019,602 votes to defeat his closest contender, Nasir Gawuna of the APC who polled 890,705 votes.

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu has been re-elected in Lagos State.

He polled a total of 762,134 votes, defeating Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour of the Labour Party who scored 312,329 votes, followed by Abdul-Azeez Adediran aka Jandor with 62,449 votes.

..APC Dikko declared winner of Katsina Guber poll

The All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate in Katsina State, Dr. Dikko Radda, has been declared the winner of Saturday’s election.

Radda scored 859,892 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Senator Yakubu Danmarke, of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who polled a total of 486,620

Buni reelected as Yobe Governor

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the incumbent Governor of Yobe State, Mai Mala Buni as the winner of the 2023 governorship election in the state.

Abdulrazaq Reelected as Kwara Governor

Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq of Kwara State has been reelected for another four-year term. The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate polled 273,424 to defeat his closest opponents — Abdullah Yahman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 155,490 and Hakeem Lawal of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) who got 18,922 votes.

INEC declares PDP Umo Eno winner of Akwa Ibom Guber poll

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Akwa Ibom State, Umo Eno as the winner of the March 18 governorship poll in the state.

PDP’s Eno polled 354,348 to defeat his closest rivals — Akanimo Udofia of the APC, who scored 129,602 votes and LP’s Uduakobong who got 4,746 votes.

PDP’s Seyi Makinde Re-Elected As Oyo Governor

Makinde polled 563,756 votes to defeat his closest rival who scored 256,685 in the results of the 33 local governments in the South-West states.

PDP’s Makinde defeated his challengers including Labour Party (LP)’s Akinwale Tayo as well as a serving senator, Teslim Folarin of the APC.

Governor Dapo Abiodun reelected in Ogun State

Abiodun of the APC was declared the winner by Prof Kayode Adebowale, the state returning officer in the state.

Abiodun polled 276,298 to defeat his closest rivals — Ladi Adebutu of the PDP who scored 262,383 as well as Biyi Otegbeye of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) who got 94,754 votes and who has the backing of former governor and serving APC senator, Ibikunle Amosun.

APC’s Yahaya wins Gombe Guber poll

APC’s Yahaya of Gombe State in North-East Nigeria scored 342,821 to defeat his close contender, Mohammed Jibrin Barde of the PDP, who scored 233,131.

Ahmed Mailantarki of the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) came third with votes 19,861 while Keftin Amuga of the LP scored 1,753.

Ahmed Aliyu Sokoto of the APC was declared the winner in Sokoto State. He won with a total of 453,661 votes, defeating his closest rival, Saidu Umar of the PDP, who polled 404,632.

Incumbent governor Aminu Tambuwal, a PDP stalwart, will step down in two months after completing two terms.

Kabir scored 1,019,602 votes to defeat his closest contender, Nasir Gawuna of the APC who polled 890,705 votes.


The deputy governor and former commissioner of finance in the North-West state scored 618,449 votes to defeat his closest rivals — Mustafa Lamido of the PDP who polled 368,726 and Aminu Ringim of the NNPP who got 37,156 votes.

Namadi will replace the incumbent, Abubakar Badaru of the APC whose two-term of eight years ends on May 29, 2023.

Published by WonderLady

Journalist, Educationist, Writer, Human Rights Advocate

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s