Akure By-election: APC Candidate, Lawson Alade wins

Mr Mayokun Lawson Alade of the All Progressives Congress, APC has emerged winer of the bye-election into the Akure North and South federal constituency in the house of representatives.

Mr Alade popularly called LAF polled 26,379 to beat other six contestants in the election.

His closest rival, Mr Olumuyiwa Adu of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP polled 24,201 votes.

Other contestants, Oluwawemimo Fadeke of the African Democratic Party, had 465 votes, Joseph Ajayi of the All Peoples Party polled 125 votes, Olaniyi Olufemi of the National Redemption movement ,76 votes , Opawole Tajudeen of the Social Democratic Party, 68 votes while Olawale of the Accord Party polled 41 votes.

The returning officer for the election, Professor  Deji Ogunseni of the Federal University Of Technology Akure, FUTA announced the result of the election.

The election held in two local governments of Akure North/ Akure South was conducted under a peaceful atmosphere.

The bye-election became necessary following the death of the lawmaker representing the constituency,  Mr Adedayo Omolafe last year August.


Akure North LGA:
APC – 8,291
PDP – 5,830

Akure South LGA:
APC – 16,996
PDP – 17,645

APC – 25,287
PDP – 23,475

Difference = 1,812

Ojuasha News

Published by WonderLady

Journalist, Educationist, Writer, Human Rights Advocate

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s