Gov Akeredolu to be honoured, as CAN celebrates 45TH anniversary

The Governor of Ondo State, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, SAN, has been awarded PATRON of Christian Association of Nigeria (PCAN).

This follows his nomination and subsequent acceptance of the notification for recognition by the association.

The Chairman of CAN, Ondo State chapter, Rev’d Dr. John Ayo Oladapo, who announced this in Akure on Thursday 19th August, 2021, said that the investiture ceremony would hold on Wednesday, 15th September, 2021 as part of activities to mark the 45th anniversary of the association in Nigeria.

Explaining the rationale for the award, Rev’d Oladapo said Arakunrin Akeredolu is being honoured as the Father of all and especially for his commitment to the issue of security in Ondo State and the South West in general.
According to him, nineteen other eminent Nigerians will be conferred with various awards in appreciation of their contributions to the propagation of the Gospel and the expansion of God’s Kingdom.

“To us in CAN, the whole duty of man is to serve God. And since God recognises every good work, as His servants we must appreciate those who contribute to the spread of the Gospel, promotion of peace and, capital and human development. Some of our awardees singlehandedly built and donated church buildings to the Christian community. We need to appreciate them”, the CAN Chairman declares.

The list of the awardees who will be honoured with different category of awards include, the Ondo State deputy governor, Hon. Lucky Ayedatiwa, HRM Oba Oluwole Babajide Bamigbala 1, the OluOke of Okeigbo, HRM Oba Adefarakanmi Agbede, the Olowa of Igbara Oke, HRH Barrister Oluyemi Bajowa, the Regent of Ayeka land and Barrister Yinka Akinyosoye, the Baba Ijo of Methodist Church, Oke Agunla, Ondo.

Others are; Pastor Mrs Olufunke Oloyeloogun, wife of the Speaker, Ondo State House of Assembly, Bishop Simeon Borokini, the Anglican Bishop of Akure, Bishop Abayomi Adegbite, Bishop Felix Adejumo, Baba Aladura Dr. Israel Akinadewo of Motailatu Cherubim & Seraphim Church Worldwide and Apostle Z.B. Adeboriota, the Chairman, Bible Society of Nigeria, Ondo State.
The rest are; Elder Akande S. A., the Chairman of Akoko North West LG, Prophet Sesan Olujohungbe, Rev’d Oluwole Afolabi, Rev’d Israel Oyetunde, Deaconess Folasade Awe, a business tycoon and Comrade Amoko V.O., the Chairman, NUT, Ondo state.

Some politicians also made the list. They are, Senator Ayo Akinyelure, Hon. Bunmi Tunji Ojo (BTO) and Chief Alex Ajipe, the CEO of Klick Konnect Networks International.

It would be remembered that the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) was established on 15th August, 1976 as an umbrella body to promote unity among Christians in Nigeria spread across five denominational blocs comprising the Catholic Secretariat of Nigeria (CSN), the Christian Council of Nigeria (CCN), the Pentecostal Fellowship of Nigeria/Christian Pentecostal Fellowship of Nigeria (PFN/CPFN), the ECWA/TEKAN and the Organisation of African Instituted Churches (OAIC).

Mr. Dapo Daramola
Special Assistant on Media to the Ondo State CAN Chairman.
19th August, 2021.

Published by WonderLady

Journalist, Educationist, Writer, Human Rights Advocate

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s