Updated: Tinubu clears Jigawa presidential poll

..maintains lead in Borno, clears 7 LGAs

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced the All Progressive Congress (APC) presidential candidate Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu scored highest votes in the last Saturday’s presidential and National Assembly elections in JIgawa State.

Announcing the result of the presidential election, the collation officer, Professor Arma Ya’u Hamisu Bichi of Federal University Dutsin Ma said the exercise was peaceful.

Bichi said: “APC- 421,390, LP- 1,889, NNPP- 98,234 and PDP- 386,587 votes”.

The ruling APC won two senatorial seats,  eight House of Representatives seats while the opposition PDP won one senator, two Representatives seats and NNPP won one House of Reps seat. 

Alhaji Mustapha Khabib of PDP won in JIgawa south west with 153,73 votes. 

The APC candidate Alhaji Babangida Husaini won the JIgawa northwest senatorial seat with 187,049 votes and Ambassador Abdulhamid Ahmed Malammadori won JIgawa northeast senatorial seat with 136,977 votes.

The presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress has consolidated his lead in Borno State, clearing seven LGAs announced by the returning officers so far. 

The former Lagos Governor is being trailed by the presidential candidate of the People’s Democratic Party, Atiku Abubakar. 

The APC candidate won in Gubio, Kaga, Magumeri, Mafa, Kwaya Kusar, Konduga and Nganzai LGAs. 

The results as announced at the collation Centre are: 

1. Gubio LGA :

APC – 3, 519

PDP – 2, 127

NNPP – 29

LP – 7

2. Kaga LGA

APC – 5,361

PDP – 2, 608

NNPP – 16 LP -1

4.Mafa LGA

APC – 14, 821

PDP – 1,077

NNPP – 38

LP – 6

5. Kwaya Kusar LGA 

APC – 8, 420

PDP – 7,254

NNPP – 328

LP – 123

6. Konduga LGA 

APC – 10, 012

PDP – 4, 119

NNPP – 111

LP – 76

Nganzai LGA 

APC – 3, 468

PDP – 1, 513 

NNPP – 12

LP – 01

The Nation

Published by WonderLady

Journalist, Educationist, Writer, Human Rights Advocate

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s